Skip to main content
Claim.ca

You're now dealing with Lemonade Law™, Marty Mikhail's personal legal practice.

Call1-800-336-9911
← Back

Practice Area

Denied Long-Term Disability Claims in Ontario

A long-term disability denial letter usually arrives at the worst possible moment: you are too unwell to work, the income you were counting on has been refused or cut off, and the letter invites you to appeal to the same company that just said no. Here is what that letter does not tell you: a denial is the insurer’s opinion, not a verdict. Denials get reversed, cut-offs get reinstated, and claims get resolved, but only if you act inside a deadline the appeal process can quietly consume. This page explains how LTD denials work in Ontario, what your real options are, and why the clock matters more than the appeal form.

This page is general legal information about Ontario law. It is not legal advice about your situation. Every case turns on its own facts and on the wording of your policy.

My LTD claim was denied or cut off. What can I actually do?

You have two paths. The first is the insurer’s internal appeal process, which the denial letter promotes. The second is a lawsuit against the insurer for the benefits you say you are owed. These are not equivalent options dressed in different clothes. The internal appeal asks the company that denied you to reconsider its own decision, on its own timeline, usually reviewed by its own people. The lawsuit puts your claim in front of an independent court, forces the insurer to justify its position with evidence, and is where most seriously disputed LTD claims are ultimately resolved, usually by settlement rather than trial.

Neither path is automatically right for every case, and choosing between them is a strategic decision, not a formality. But the choice has to be made with one fact firmly in view, and it is the most important fact on this page.

How long do I have to fight an LTD denial in Ontario?

Generally, you have two years from the denial to start a lawsuit. And here is the trap: the insurer’s internal appeal process generally does not stop that clock. You can spend a year and a half gathering records, submitting appeals and waiting for responses, feel like you are actively fighting your claim, and discover that the limitation period expired while the insurer was "reviewing your file." The appeal deadlines in the insurer’s letters are the insurer’s deadlines, not the law’s. The only deadline that ends your right to sue is the limitation period, and appealing does not extend it.

Exactly which insurer communication starts the clock can be a genuinely contested legal question, and courts have wrestled with it. That nuance helps lawyers argue edge cases after something has gone wrong. It should never be part of your plan. Treat the first clear denial or cut-off as the starting gun, diarize the date, and get advice long before the two years is a live issue. Separately, if you are just starting a claim rather than fighting a denial, be aware that policies impose their own notice and proof-of-claim deadlines measured in weeks, not years, so new claims also reward speed.

Why was my claim denied?

Denial letters tend to draw from a familiar set of reasons: the medical evidence is said to be insufficient or lacking "objective" findings; you are said not to meet the policy’s definition of total disability; an insurer-selected doctor who examined you once, or only reviewed your file, disagrees with the doctors who treat you; surveillance or social media is said to contradict your reported limitations; you are said not to be under appropriate treatment; or a pre-existing condition exclusion is invoked. Sometimes the reason is as mundane as a form that arrived late.

Each of these is a position, and positions can be answered. Treating doctors can be supported and their opinions properly developed. File-review opinions can be challenged. Surveillance that shows you buying groceries does not show what the rest of that day cost you, and courts understand the difference. The point is not that every denial is wrong. It is that a denial letter is the opening of an argument, not the end of one, and it deserves an independent assessment rather than automatic acceptance.

What does "totally disabled" actually mean?

Less than the words suggest, and this misunderstanding stops people from claiming at all. Total disability under most policies does not mean bedridden or incapable of everything. For roughly the first two years of benefits, most group policies define disability against your own occupation: whether you can perform the essential duties of the job you actually held. After that period, the definition typically changes to an any occupation test, and this change of definition is where more claims are cut off than anywhere else in the system.

But even the any occupation test is narrower than insurers’ letters imply. It is generally tied to occupations reasonably suited to you by education, training and experience, and often to a commensurate level of earnings, as defined by the policy. "You could do some job somewhere" is not the test. If your benefits were terminated at the two-year mark with a letter saying you are capable of gainful employment, that conclusion is exactly the kind that deserves independent scrutiny, because the policy wording, not the letter’s summary of it, controls.

Should I do the insurer’s internal appeal or sue?

It depends, and anyone who answers without reading your denial letter and policy is guessing. In my experience, internal appeals rarely change the outcome unless they put genuinely new medical evidence in front of the insurer, and every month an appeal consumes is a month off your limitation period. There are situations where one well-built appeal makes sense: where a specific, fixable evidentiary gap caused the denial, or where new specialist evidence has just become available. There are many more situations where the appeal process functions mainly as a delay you cannot afford. This is precisely the decision to get advice on early, because it is much easier to choose the right path at month two than to rescue the wrong one at month twenty.

What about mental health, chronic pain and invisible illness claims?

Depression, anxiety, PTSD, chronic pain, fibromyalgia, chronic fatigue and similar conditions make up a large share of LTD claims, and they are disproportionately represented in denials, usually under the banner of insufficient "objective" evidence. Be clear about what the law actually requires: it does not demand a blood test or an X-ray for conditions that medicine itself diagnoses through symptoms, clinical assessment and history. Consistent, credible medical evidence from treating practitioners, properly documented over time, is evidence, and courts treat it as such.

If this is your situation, the practical guidance is simple even when following it is hard: stay connected to your treatment providers, report your symptoms fully and honestly at every visit so the record reflects your reality, and do not let an insurer’s demand for a kind of proof your condition cannot produce convince you that your claim is not real. That demand is a litigation position. It is not the law.

What can I recover if I sue my LTD insurer?

The core of the claim is the benefits themselves: the arrears you should have been paid, with interest, and your entitlement going forward. Many cases resolve by negotiated settlement, sometimes structured as reinstatement and sometimes as a lump sum that buys out the future claim, each with trade-offs that deserve careful advice. Beyond the benefits, Ontario courts can award additional damages where an insurer’s handling of the claim caused mental distress, and in cases of bad faith conduct, punitive damages. Those additional awards are the exception rather than the rule, and no honest lawyer promises them, but they exist, and insurers know it.

How is LTD different from WSIB, CPP Disability and ODSP?

People understandably run these together, and insurers benefit from the confusion. LTD is a contract claim against an insurance company under a policy, usually through your employer’s group plan or an individual policy you bought. WSIB is Ontario’s workplace injury system and applies to work-related injuries and illnesses; Lemonade Law™ does not handle WSIB claims, and I will tell you straight if that is where your claim belongs. CPP Disability is a federal benefit based on your contributions, and ODSP is provincial income support. They have different tests, and being denied one does not decide another.

Two interactions are worth knowing. Most LTD policies require you to apply for CPP Disability and then deduct it from your monthly benefit, so the insurer’s insistence that you apply is normal, not sinister. And a CPP Disability approval, which applies a demanding disability test of its own, is a genuinely useful piece of evidence in a fight with an LTD insurer that claims you can work.

Can I be fired while I’m on LTD?

Being disabled does not make your job untouchable, but it does not leave you unprotected either. Ontario’s Human Rights Code requires employers to accommodate disability to the point of undue hardship, and a termination connected to your disability can give rise to serious claims. Employers sometimes assert that a long absence has frustrated the employment contract, a legal doctrine with real limits that is invoked more often than it truly applies. If you have been terminated, or sense it coming, while on or applying for LTD, the disability claim and the employment claim need to be handled together, because decisions in one can affect the other. Employment law is one of my practice areas, and this overlap is common enough that I assess both sides as a matter of course.

What should I keep doing while the dispute is ongoing?

The claim you are fighting for is being evidenced, or undermined, every week. Stay under the care of your doctors and follow the treatment they actually recommend, because a gap in treatment becomes an exhibit. Complete the forms your policy legitimately requires, ideally with advice, since refusing them creates a separate reason to deny. Keep copies of everything the insurer sends and everything you send back. And assume that what you post publicly may be reviewed by the insurer: the answer is not to perform illness online, it is simply to live honestly and remember that a photograph of your best hour says nothing about your worst twelve, even if an adjuster will pretend otherwise.

What is my claim worth?

Honestly: it depends on your monthly benefit amount, how much of the benefit period remains, the offsets your policy applies, the strength of the medical evidence, and how the risks of litigation land on both sides. A forty-year-old with benefits payable to sixty-five has a very different claim than someone two years from the end of coverage, even with identical conditions. Nobody can value your claim from a webpage, and a number produced without your policy and your medical file in hand is a guess dressed up as an answer. What I can give you is a straight assessment of whether the denial is worth fighting and what would drive the value if it is.

What does the process look like?

It starts with the file: your policy or benefits booklet, the denial letter, and your medical records, which together answer most of the strategic questions. If the claim proceeds, a lawsuit is issued, the insurer produces its claim file, and both sides exchange documents and conduct examinations for discovery. Expect the insurer to request an independent medical examination, and expect the fight to be about medical evidence more than anything else. In Ottawa, cases pass through mandatory mediation, and the substantial majority of LTD disputes settle there or in later negotiation. Timelines run months to a few years depending on complexity, and one honest caution belongs here: financial pressure is the insurer’s quiet ally in every LTD negotiation, which is one more reason to start the process before desperation sets the schedule.

What does it cost to hire Lemonade Law™?

Nothing up front. I work on contingency, which means my fee is a percentage of what I recover for you, and if there is no recovery there is no fee. The percentage and terms are set out in a written agreement before I start, in plain language, as the Law Society of Ontario requires.

What should I do right now?

If a denial or cut-off letter has arrived, in this order:

  1. Write down the date of the denial letter and keep the letter and its envelope. The limitation clock is likely already running.
  2. Get the full policy or plan booklet, not just the summary. The exact wording of the disability definition is the whole ballgame.
  3. Keep treating. Stay connected to your doctors and keep reporting your symptoms fully at every appointment.
  4. Gather what you have: the denial letter, prior correspondence, claim forms, and any insurer medical reports you were given.
  5. Do not sign anything that settles or releases your claim, and be cautious about recorded calls with the adjuster, before getting advice.
  6. Get an assessment before deciding on the internal appeal. The appeal-or-sue decision is the one that sets everything else up.

Frequently asked questions

How long do I have to dispute an LTD denial in Ontario?

Generally two years from the denial to start a lawsuit, and the insurer’s internal appeal process generally does not pause that clock. Treat the date on the denial letter as the start of the countdown and get advice early.

My benefits were cut off after two years. Why?

Most group policies change the definition of disability at the two-year mark from your own occupation to an any occupation test, and this is the single most common cut-off point. The any occupation test is narrower than termination letters imply, and cut-offs at this stage are frequently worth challenging.

I have depression and fibromyalgia. The insurer says there is no objective evidence. Is my claim hopeless?

No. The law does not require laboratory proof for conditions that medicine diagnoses through symptoms and clinical assessment. Consistent, credible evidence from treating practitioners is evidence, and claims based on mental health and chronic pain conditions succeed regularly.

Is the insurer allowed to watch me?

Surveillance of activity in public, and review of public social media, is a lawful and common insurer practice. The right response is not anxiety but honesty: live your real life, report your limitations accurately, and remember that brief footage of a good moment does not disprove a disabling condition.

Do I have to apply for CPP Disability because my insurer told me to?

Most policies genuinely require it and allow the insurer to deduct CPP Disability from your monthly benefit, so the request is usually legitimate. If you are approved, that approval can also strengthen your position against the LTD insurer.

Does it cost anything to find out if the denial is worth fighting?

If I take your case, I work on contingency, so you pay nothing unless I recover money for you.

Not sure if you have a claim?

Related reading