Skip to main content
Claim.ca
← Back to Blog

Why Your Long-Term Disability Was Cut Off at 24 Months in Ontario

If your long-term disability benefits were suddenly stopped around the two-year mark, you are not imagining things. This is one of the most common, and most predictable, moments at which Ontario insurers terminate a claim. It happens to people whose medical conditions have not improved, who are still under the care of their doctors, and who are no more able to work today than they were the day they first went off.

The reason has almost nothing to do with your health. It has to do with how your policy is written.

Here is what is actually happening, why it happens at exactly 24 months, and what your options are in Ontario when it does.

What changes at 24 months

Most group long-term disability policies in Ontario have two stages built into them. People rarely hear about the second stage until the letter arrives.

Stage one (the first 24 months): This is the "own occupation" period. To qualify, you have to show that your medical condition prevents you from doing the essential duties of your own job. If you were a nurse, the question is whether you can work as a nurse. If you were a truck driver, the question is whether you can drive a truck.

Stage two (after 24 months): This is the "any occupation" period. The test gets harder. Now you have to show that you cannot work in any job you are reasonably suited for by your education, training, or experience. The question is no longer whether you can return to your old job. It is whether you could do any job at all.

That shift is called the change of definition. It is almost universal in group LTD policies. And for insurers, it is a scheduled checkpoint.

Why so many claims are cut off at this exact moment

Insurers know that the bar rises at month 24. In the months leading up to the change of definition, most claim files are actively reviewed. That review often includes:

  • A request for updated medical information from your doctors.
  • A referral to an Independent Medical Examination (IME), which is a one-time assessment by a doctor chosen and paid for by the insurer.
  • A vocational assessment suggesting other jobs the insurer says you could do.
  • A review of any surveillance, social media activity, or other evidence the insurer has gathered.

The outcome of that review is often a letter, usually arriving in month 22 or 23, telling you that your benefits will end on the day the definition changes. The letter will typically list a few alternative occupations the insurer believes you are capable of. These are commonly jobs like security guard, parking attendant, customer service agent, or telemarketer, regardless of whether you have any experience in those fields and regardless of what they pay.

This is a planned termination, not a medical one. Your condition has not changed. The test has.

What "any occupation" actually means

The phrase "any occupation" sounds absolute, but it is not. Ontario courts have consistently held that the test is not whether you could theoretically perform some task in some workplace. The question is whether there is a real job, in a real labour market, that you are actually suited to by your education, training, and experience, and that you could realistically perform on a sustained basis given your medical limitations.

That distinction matters. An insurer saying you could work as a parking lot attendant does not end the analysis. The questions that follow include:

  • Is that job one you are genuinely qualified for given your background?
  • Could you actually perform it reliably, full-time or on whatever basis the policy contemplates?
  • Does the wage approach the threshold your policy requires, which is often a percentage of your pre-disability income?
  • Does your medical condition, including pain, fatigue, cognitive symptoms, or mental health, actually allow you to show up and perform consistently?

Many change-of-definition denials fall apart when those questions are asked properly.

The conditions most often cut off at the 24-month mark

Some types of claims are denied at the change of definition far more often than others. The pattern is consistent:

  • Mental health conditions. Depression, anxiety, PTSD, and burnout are frequent targets because the symptoms do not show up on imaging or blood work. Insurers often argue the claimant has stabilized enough to work in some lower-stress role.
  • Chronic pain and fibromyalgia. Pain is hard to measure objectively. Insurers frequently argue that the medical evidence does not demonstrate a functional inability to do any work.
  • Chronic fatigue and long COVID. Fluctuating symptoms and limited diagnostic testing make these claims vulnerable to the same argument.
  • Soft-tissue injuries and post-concussion syndrome. These often appear medically stable on paper even when the person remains functionally unable to work.
  • Cancer in remission or recovery. Insurers may argue that active treatment has ended and the person can now return to some form of work, even when fatigue, cognitive effects, or treatment side effects remain disabling.

If your claim falls into one of these categories, the change of definition was almost certainly on the insurer's calendar from the beginning.

What to do if your benefits were just cut off

Getting the letter is difficult. The first instinct for many people is to accept what the insurer says, or to go along with the internal appeal process the letter invites. Before doing either, it helps to understand where you actually stand.

1. Read the denial letter carefully. The insurer is required to tell you why they are terminating benefits. That reason, whether it is an IME report, a functional capacity evaluation, or a list of alternative occupations, is the starting point of any response.

2. Know the limitation period. In Ontario, under the Limitations Act, 2002, a lawsuit to recover denied disability benefits must generally be started within two years of the denial. That deadline runs whether or not you are engaged in an internal appeal with the insurer. An internal appeal does not stop the clock.

3. Be careful with internal appeals. The appeal invitation in the denial letter sounds reasonable, but it is handled by the same insurer that just said no. Internal appeals succeed less often than people expect, and they can consume months while the limitation clock keeps running.

4. Request your complete claim file. You are entitled to know what the insurer relied on. That includes IME reports, surveillance, internal notes, and the full policy and benefits booklet. These documents often reveal weaknesses in the insurer's position.

5. Get updated medical evidence that speaks to function, not just diagnosis. A diagnosis alone rarely wins these cases. The evidence that matters describes what you cannot do: how long you can sit, stand, concentrate, handle stress, manage a schedule, or sustain effort across a workday.

6. Talk to a lawyer before the two-year clock runs out. Change-of-definition cases are often won or lost on the quality of the medical and vocational evidence, and on how the policy language is argued. Getting advice early, ideally well before the limitation period expires, keeps every option open.

What a challenge to the denial actually looks like

A successful challenge to a change-of-definition termination usually comes down to three things:

  • Medical evidence of functional limitations. Not just the diagnosis, but what you cannot reliably do in a workplace.
  • A realistic vocational analysis. Testing whether the alternative jobs the insurer suggested are actually suitable, available, and compatible with your limitations.
  • A careful reading of the policy. The exact wording of the "any occupation" clause matters. Some policies require the job to pay a minimum percentage of pre-disability income. Some require it to be an occupation you are already qualified for. Ambiguities in the policy are generally interpreted in favour of the insured.

Many disputes resolve through negotiation or mediation once the insurer is presented with a properly built response. Not every case goes to trial. But the time to build that response is before the limitation period starts closing in.

The bottom line

A cut-off at the 24-month mark is not a statement that you have recovered. It is a policy transition, scheduled by the insurer, that a significant percentage of legitimate claims fail to survive the first time around. If you received that letter and your health has not meaningfully improved, the denial is worth challenging.

The worst thing to do is wait. The limitation period runs quietly in the background, the internal appeal can drag out for months, and the medical evidence that best supports your claim is strongest when it is fresh.

Learn more about how I handle long-term disability claims in Ontario.

Not sure if you have a claim? Take the 60-second assessment to get started. It's free and confidential.

Claim.ca is a free platform operated by Marty Mikhail, a lawyer licensed by the Law Society of Ontario. Legal services are provided by Lemonade Law™, Marty Mikhail's personal legal practice.